Bence Hill Lookout Tower
A newly constructed lookout tower was inaugurated in March 2018 on the 210 metre high Bence Hill. It replaced the oil rig lookout which used to stand there. The new tower is made of polished and coloured sprayed concrete and is 20 metres high. Its unusual shape resembles the cup of a flower. The lookout offers a unique view of Lake Velence, but also a stunning panorama of the four directions of the compass. The lookout tower can be visited during opening hours for a fee.
Laura Csajághy Stage
The Laura Csajághy Stage was named after Vörösmarty’s wife and muse, and is located behind the Vörösmarty Memorial House. The open-air stage is used for theatrical and dance performances and concerts during the summer season.
The Halász family of Kápolnásnyék built a neoclassical country house in the village in the first half of the 19th century, which was considerably enlarged and refashioned in neo-Baroque style around 1930. The building suffered during World War II and was neglected after nationalisation, but was renovated together with its park in 2016. It is run by the Foundation for the Lake Velence Micro-Region and is a cultural centre, serving as a venue for community events, exhibitions, concerts, performances and art education programmes. Address: 2475 Kápolnásnyék, Deák Ferenc utca 10.
KEMPP Military Memorial Park
The Military Memorial Park in Pákozd is located on a 1.6 hectare site around the obelisk erected in 1951 to commemorate the battle of Pákozd-Sukoró on 29 September 1848. It came into being in its current form in September 2002 through a civil initiative involving 11 organisations with the aim of presenting the major events in the history of the Hungarian Defence Forces established in 1848 and raising a fitting monument to the heroic commitment of Hungary’s soldiers over the last 160 years.
The completed 1848 Memorial and Memorial Museum remembers the soldiers and militiamen who fought heroically in the first victorious battle of the 1848 war for Hungarian independence; the River Don Chapel commemorates the soldiers who fell in World War II, and the Hungarian Peacekeeping Monument and exhibition are intended to present the devotion to duty of modern soldiers. The development of the Memorial Park continues as resources become available. In 2008-09 preparations were made for the memorial of the battles of World War I and the Heroes’ Memorial and then for the display of the World War II artillery position. Address: 8095 Pákozd, 087. hrsz.
This unusual statue is 12.5 metres tall and is made of 100 tons of concrete. The monumental hussar stands next to the M7 motorway on Bogár Hillock in Pákozd. Legend has it that this is where General Jellachich of the Imperial Army, who was intent on crushing the revolution for Hungarian independence but was defeated in the battle here, stood in September 1848. The statue symbolises the Hungarian hussar, intending to immortalise the heroism and courage of the Hungarian soldier, who, standing on the scene of the triumphant battle, also represents the victorious Hungarian soldier, holding a flag for victory in one hand and resting his other hand on his sword to express his readiness to defend his homeland at any time. Address: 8095 Pákozd, Bem utca 45.
The Pagony Arboretum in nearby Pákozd with a charming pond, a family picnic area and an adventure castle for children covers 96 hectares on the northern shore of Lake Velence.
Besides an aviary, the Arboretum’s Game Park has wild boar, red deer, mouflon, roe deer, fallow deer, pheasants and wild turkey.
Address: 8096 Pákozd, Mészeg-hegy
A stone cross used to stand at the waterside in memory of Lajos Sarvaicz, the steward of the lake, who died in a hunting accident. A lookout tower has been erected there in his memory. Address: 2485 Dinnyés
The lake can be explored in various ways including a scheduled boat service from the end of March until the end of October. Boats run from Agárd to Szúnyog Island in Pákozd, a popular destination with tourists. Pleasant boat trips also start from Agárd at dusk. Bikes can be taken on the boat as part of a cycling tour. Timetables for boats vary in the early, main and late seasons. Boats run from Agárd, Szúnyog Island in Pákozd and Velence. During the boat trip you can watch the wildlife of the reeds of the lake. Tickets are sold on the boat for the boat stations in Pákozd and at the boat station in Agárd.
Castle Park Dinnyés
Just a few minutes’ walk from the Dinnyés Traditions Centre, the Castle Park has a display of model medieval Hungarian castles erected on private property. The castles are made of original materials, wood and stone, and are sited facing their original direction. They are surrounded by a path following the shape of historic Hungary so they can be seen where they used to stand. The path is lined with memorial posts, each of which is dedicated to a Hungarian king, regent or ruling prince. The models can be enjoyed by people of all ages and the guided tour provides an insight into Hungary’s history. Address: 2485 Dinnyés - Gárdony, Kossuth u. 17.
Velence Corso and Free Beach
The shopping, entertainment and tourist centre on a 20 hectare site serves as a focal point for the community combining a recreational area with a space for events, a pedestrian street, services and a high quality modern free beach. Address: 2481 Velence, Tópart utca 47.
Vörösmarty Memorial House
The exhibition presents the life and career of Hungary’s famous 19th-century poet and the history of the Vörösmarty cult that began almost at the moment of his death through the most important documents related to him. The exhibition, rearranged for the bicentenary of the poet’s birth, evokes the atmosphere of the Biedermeier period in the 19th century. The furnishings, furniture and objects in the rooms are similar to those that were present in Vörösmarty’s everyday life. Although few of the pieces displayed belonged originally to the poet, his desk with manuscript versions of his famous poem “Appeal” (Szózat), an inlaid chest of drawers, which he inherited from his family, and a cobalt blue dish decorated with small dots and flowers are on show here. The memorial house is only accessible on foot or by bike from Vörösmarty Street, which starts in the centre of the village, as the level crossing at the railway line which bisects the street is for pedestrians only. Address: 2475 Kápolnásnyék, Vörösmarty u. 31.
This simple building complex with a reed-thatched roof, which was once connected to a vineyard and owned by the 19th-century poet Mihály Vörösmarty, stands on the corner of Panoráma and Csongor Streets leading to Bence Hill. Born in Kápolnásnyék, Mihály Vörösmarty spent his childhood and the last years of his life here. He wrote many of his poems here and was often inspired by the beauty of the landscape. The spritzer, wine diluted with soda, is a very popular drink in Hungary today and was given its Hungarian name fröccs by Vörösmarty. In the 19th century, this beverage was a novelty and Vörösmarty enthuses over the “pearly beads rising upward in the wine” in his poem “Song of Fót”. The cellar and the fröccs terrace are open to the public periodically. On such occasions, you can enjoy a unique gastronomic experience.