Bence Hill Lookout
The new Bence Hill Lookout Tower was opened in March 2018 on the 210-metre-high Bence Hill. The successor of the former oil drilling tower is built of polished and coloured sprayed concrete and is 20 metres tall. Its unique shape best resembles the cup of a flower. The outlook offers a spectacular view of Lake Velence but the vista in the other three directions is also breathtaking. The outlook can be visited for a fee during opening hours.
Winter opening hours: 10 am - 6 pm
Summer opening hours: 10 am - 8 pm
The Halász family of Kápolnásnyék built a neoclassical mansion in the village in the first half of the 19th century. The building was considerably extended and given a neo-baroque appearance around 1930. After the destruction of World War II and the neglect of nationalisation, the building and the surrounding park were fully renovated in 2016 and are now maintained by the Foundation for the Velence Lake Region. It is today a cultural centre and a venue for community events, exhibitions, concerts, presentations and art education programmes. Hotel guests can visit the centre’s current exhibitions free of charge with an entrance ticket available from the hotel reception.
Address: 2475 Kápolnásnyék, Deák Ferenc utca 10.
Opening hours: daily except Mondays 10 am - 6 pm
Military Memorial Park
The Military Memorial Park in Pákozd is situated in a 1.6 hectare area centred on the obelisk erected in 1951 to commemorate the battle of Pákozd-Sukoró on 19 September 1848. Its current form came into being in September 2002 through a civil initiative involving 11 organisations with the aim of presenting the major events in the history of the Hungarian Defence Forces formed in 1848 and raising a fitting monument commemorating the heroic commitment of the country’s soldiers throughout the past 160 years.
The completed 1848 Memorial and Memorial Museum is a reminder of the soldiers and militiamen who fought heroically in the first victorious battle of the 1848 freedom fight; the Don Bend Chapel commemorates soldiers who fell in World War II, and the Hungarian Peacekeeping Monument and peacekeeping exhibition are intended to present the sacrificial devotion of modern soldiers.
Address: 8095 Pákozd, 087. hrsz.
A unique 12.5 metre tall creation made of 100 tons of concrete.
The monumental hussar statue stands next to the M7 motorway in Pákozd. This is the place where, according to legend, the Ban of Croatia Jellachich, an army general who led a campaign to crush the Hungarian Revolution in 1848 but lost that battle, stood in September that year. The statue symbolises the Hungarian hussar, immortalising the heroism and courage of the Hungarian soldier. The statue also represents the victorious Hungarian soldier, standing on and calling attention to the location of the triumphant battle, holding a flag for victory in one hand and placing the other onto his sword expressing his readiness to fight to defend his country at any time.
Address: 8095 Pákozd, Domb utca
There are two beautiful arboretums in the area of Lake Velence to entice visitors. A description of the Arboretum in Alcsútdoboz can be found under “Outing to the Váli Valley”. The nearby Pákozd-Sukoró Arboretum and Game Park covers 96 hectares on the northern shore of the lake. Visitors will find a pond, picnic area and an adventure castle for children.
An aviary has been set up in the Arboretum’s Game Park, which also has wild boar, red deer, mouflon, roe deer, fallow deer, pheasants and wild turkey.
A romantic path under a canopy of trees leads up to the Arboretum’s lookout tower offering splendid views over almost the whole of the lake.
Address: 8096 Pákozd, Mészeg-hegy
This stone cross near the lake was raised as a memorial to the steward of the lake Lajos Sarvaicz, who died in a gun accident in the early 20th century. A new lookout tower has been erected next to the old cross in memory of the man who devoted his life to the lake.
Address: 2485 Dinnyés
From the end of March to the end of October you can discover the lake by boat thanks to a scheduled service. Boats run from Agárd to Szúnyog Island near Pákozd, a favourite destination with tourists.
There is also a 30-minute boat trip starting from Pákozd (Szúnyog Island) and 45-minute trips from Agárd and Velence. Pleasant boat trips also start from Agárd and Velence at dusk.
You can even take your bikes on the boat as part of a round-the-lake cycling tour.
There are different timetables for boats in the early, main and late seasons. Boats run from Agárd, Pákozd (Szúnyog Island) and Velence. Sitting on the boat you can enjoy the wildlife of the reeds around the lake. Tickets are sold on the boat for the boat stations in Velence and Pákozd (Szúnyog Island), and at the boat station in Agárd.
Castle Park Dinnyés
Just a couple of minutes’ walk from the Dinnyés Re-enactment Centre there is a unique exhibition of model medieval Hungarian castles erected on private property called the Castle Park. The strongholds are made of original materials, wood and stone, and face the direction they originally did. They are sited in relation to and surrounded by a path that follows the map of historic Hungary so they can be seen in their correct location. The path is flanked by memorial posts, each of which is dedicated to a Hungarian king, regent or ruling prince. The models appeal to people of all ages and the guided tour gives an insight into this aspect of history.
Address: 2485 Dinnyés - Gárdony, Kossuth u. 17.
Mihály Vörösmarty Memorial House
The exhibition traces the life and career of Hungary’s famous 19th-century poet through the most important documents related to him, providing an insight into the history of the Vörösmarty cult that began almost in the moment of his death.
To mark the bicentenary of the poet’s birth, the exhibition was rearranged to evoke the atmosphere of the Biedermeier period in the 19th century.
The furnishings, furniture and objects in the room are similar to those of Vörösmarty’s everyday milieu. Although there are few pieces that actually belonged to the poet, his desk with manuscript versions of his poem “Appeal”, which is considered Hungary’s second national anthem; an inlaid chest of drawers, which he inherited from his family, and a cobalt blue dish decorated with small spots and flowers are exhibited here.
The Memorial House can only be reached by foot or bike from Vörösmarty Street, which starts in the middle of the village, as there is only a level crossing for pedestrians at the railway line which bisects the street.
Address: 2475 Kápolnásnyék, Vörösmarty u. 31.
Once owned by the 19th-century poet Mihály Vörösmarty, the simple thatched building, which used to have a vineyard as well, is located on the corner of the road leading to Bence Hill, Panoráma út, and Csongor utca. This is where the poet, who was born in Kápolnásnyék, spent his childhood years and the last years of his life. He wrote several poems here, inspired by the beauty of the landscape. The popular light summer drink, the spritzer, is also associated with the poet. He gave this drink of wine diluted with soda water its Hungarian name “fröccs” and praised in verse “the dainty beads rising in the wine”. The cellar and the Fröccs Terrace are open periodically, tempting guests to a unique gastronomic experience.